DAY 54 GRAMMY CHASE: CREEP WITH ME


Day 54, fresh off a busy day of lecturing, performing and professional networking. Today I really went with the flow and didn’t swim against the current, though it felt at times that things were not going as I hoped or where I desired, I ended up right where I was supposed to be. It was one of those times where I recognized the
Laws of Least Effort. Although I’m updating and entering this entry with “super tardy” timeliness, I had a GREAT and productive day and I’m grateful for that.

Now on to the Chase. The Dogfather recently “crept” into Buffalo for a show and brought along Kurupt and Daz reuniting the Dogg Pound. So today, I thought to look into Snoops Awards Chess, however I didn’t find any gramophones, only nominations, about 12 nominations, but no Gold plated trophy to call his own. Once again, it just really has me thinking, regardless of how big of a “hit record” an artist drops, it just doesn’t ensure much of any sort of success regarding the Grammy’s outside of being able to write
“Grammy Nominated Artist” in your press kits and on your website. Being nominated is a high honor in itself, so in this case the phrase, “It’s not all about winning” truly applies. But I do wonder what Snoop has to say about it. I mean, this cat hat some really HUGE records, lets take a look at a few:

1995 – “Nuthin’ But a “G” Thang” – Best Rap Performance (group or duo) – Meth/Mary “You’re All I Need”winner

1996 “Gin and Juice – Best Rap Solo performance –
LL Cool J – “Hey Lover”winner

2003 – “Beautiful” – Best Rap Song – Eminem – “Lose Yourself”winner

There are many more nominations and close wins, but no cigar…
I’m starting to really question my quest as the days roll by, like, is it REAAALY as important to get a Grammy as I once thought it was?…
For me, a kid from Buffalo, the black hole of talent? YES…its THAT important, but the odds ain’t looking too good Cleatus!!


About Edreys Cultrue

Edreys Cultrue is the name given to an emerging brand which is actually re-introducing itself as an amalgamation of past award-winning efforts, business models and initiatives. Focused on delivering all things creatively developed by or in association with Edreys Wajed, Cultrue was birthed from the challenge of conquering fear and doubts that try to walk beside our every step to cast shade on your greatness. Our greatest obstacles are typically very close to home, namely ourselves; so through Edreys Cultrue and in the face of apprehension and second-guessing of one's purpose and abilities, our brand breathes a positive, refreshing "culture" of authenticity, inspiration and empowerment. Cultrue. View all posts by Edreys Cultrue

One response to “DAY 54 GRAMMY CHASE: CREEP WITH ME

Leave a Reply

