DAY 53 GRAMMY CHASE: AINT NO

Day 53, in the words of my man Shaun Nelms, it was just yesterday that we were all “enjoying the Vitamin D.” Today, its back to that good ol’ Buffalo dreary scenery, giving proof to its #8 ranking of America’s Most Miserable Cities: article

Seeing as how there ain’t no sunshine, what a perfect time to chat about Bill Withers, who won “Best R&B Song” at the 1972 Grammy’s. This song has been covered by more than 120 artists. Although only music fans really know all of the words, you’d be hard pressed to find someone who doesn’t know the opening line, “Ain’t No Sunshine When She’s Gooonne…”
My sister and I had this record on 45 and used to play it in our bedroom all of the time. I don’t know about my sister, but as for me I didn’t care about what song was on the vinyl, I just enjoyed touching, playing and listening to music on a record player. I still have a record collection although they don’t get as much burn as they used to. I recall, at a holiday party a few years ago, we came across a nice collection of records and my niece provided me with a nice moment of laughter. I pulled out a Earth, Wind and Fire album, drawing it from it sleeve and asked my niece, “Do you know what this is?” She said, “Isn’t that a record or something, like an old Cd from back in the days?” Well, at least she knew it was a record, but umm, not so much of a Cd.

May you find your Sunshine everyday!!

About Edreys Cultrue

Edreys Cultrue is the name given to an emerging brand which is actually re-introducing itself as an amalgamation of past award-winning efforts, business models and initiatives. Focused on delivering all things creatively developed by or in association with Edreys Wajed, Cultrue was birthed from the challenge of conquering fear and doubts that try to walk beside our every step to cast shade on your greatness. Our greatest obstacles are typically very close to home, namely ourselves; so through Edreys Cultrue and in the face of apprehension and second-guessing of one's purpose and abilities, our brand breathes a positive, refreshing "culture" of authenticity, inspiration and empowerment. Cultrue. View all posts by Edreys Cultrue

Leave a Reply

